If I can’t hop….

I have been watching the “Life” series that BBC has put out (and Oprah has voiced over for Discovery Channel), and I have to admit that I cry every time I watch it.  Tonight as I watched, a thought occurred to me.  Usually I think, “Wow, God made some amazing creatures”…tonight I went one thought further.  We think we are the only created beings on Earth that have problems that seem to have no answer – financial struggles, marital issues, broken cars, disease, heartache, job losses – the list goes on and on.  We find ourselves in situations and think “Why, God, why?! Where is the way out? I can’t do this.”  Not to trivialize pain and hardship – but something struck me.

The truth of life is that we live in a fallen world.  As my dad would say, “Crap happens”.  And not just to us humans, but to all of creation.  Many of these creatures find themselves in situations that, on animal-world scale, are just as problematic, just as scary, many times life-and-death situations.  Amazingly enough, God created many “ways out” of situations that would never seem possible or logical.  He didn’t make it easy for them, although He could.  Take the Pebble Toad for example.  The little guy does not have the ability to hop like his other toad and frog relatives.  Now, one would think, how will he ever survive? Ever get out of danger? Out of sticky situations? God creates a way.  Even though it would seem this toad has no hope because God “did not give him the ability to hop”, God provides another way.  He didn’t give the toad what was expected, but He doesn’t leave him high and dry either.  In fact, what God does give the toad, is pretty awesome.  I don’t think the Pebble Toad misses the ability to hop.  He’s happy with the plan God provided for his life – it’s different, perfect and brings such glory to our Maker.  So next time you feel there is no way out, remember the Pebble Toad, and look for the way God is providing – it’s guaranteed to be amazing.

“In this world you will have trouble.  But take heart! I have overcome the world.”  John 16:33

Leave a Reply

