Birthday Month

February is the month of girly birthdays in the Wilson household.  3 weeks in a row of pink, presents, love, and giggles.  My sister’s birthday comes first on February 7th, then a nice respite with chocolate on Valentines Day, then my birthday follows on February 24th.  It’s quite a month of pure happiness.

Birthday Bandanas

My sister and I wholeheartedly agree that February is indeed one of the best month out of the 12.  Birthdays were not extravagant ordeals, like those you’ll find on reality shows today – see some on www.tlc.com.

But my mom always had a cake – usually homemade with more love and time than I am sure to have the patience for.  Some of the favorites were the classic “Winnie the Pooh’s honeypot and honeybees”, numerous pink heart-shaped cakes, and anything else sweet and girly that you can imagine.

 

Birthday Cakes
Birthday Cakes

My sister and I have this “special February bond” because we share a birthday month 🙂  Call it silly, but we call it important and wouldn’t have it any other way.

For two sisters who grew up sharing a lot – rooms, Barbies, fashion shows and talent shows, and eventually clothes and jewelry,

Fashion Show

 

 

we didn’t mind sharing a birthday month.  It’s like having a birthday all month long, even if it’s not yours!  Even now, we anticipate February almost as much as Christmas.  No matter how young or old we get, my sister makes February so much fun.  Because we claim it as “our month”, it’s given us many excuses to get together, laugh, spoil each other, and I know it always will.  If you haven’t met my sister, you are missing out 😉  I wasn’t always keen on sharing my Barbies with her – but at least she knew how to play with them! A little brother would have destroyed them on the driveway along with the hot wheels.   We already have so many memories together:

Charity and Charissa
Charity and Charissa

 

many, many good memories with lots of giggles, tears, and loud laughter:

Baking something wonderful
Baking Something Wonderful

 

and many shared secrets and long late-night talks

Not Packing...
Not Packing...

And many more memories to come.  Charissa, here’s to many more Birthday Month’s, Slumber Parties, HGTV projects, trips to the zoo, Squeaky Spots, surprise b-day trips, and M*A*S*H quotes.  You are my best girlfriend, the bestest sister a girl could ask for. Love you 🙂  (And don’t be mad at me for posting pics of you…you are of course, adorable, in ALL of them.)

Best Sisters
Best Sisters

 

Leave a Reply

