Steadfast Love

I’ve been thinking a lot these days about how the Lord is my anchor.  How He holds fast, how He never moves.  In a world that on a good day is fast paced and busy, and on a bad day is chaos and overwhelming – He is literally the one thing that never moves.  Like a rock, a mountain of strength, He remains.  He endures.  I can lean on Him and He can handle it.  I can lean heavily on Him, and He welcomes it.

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” – Matthew 11:28

How can I spend so many minutes of my day completely involved and taken up with things that don’t matter?  How can I forget how good He is? How reliable He is? How much He has already done for me?  How is it that His love is so great that He not only remains, but that I can hide behind Him? That He is faithful when I am so faithless? So forgetfull?

“Oh Lord, what is man that You would pay attention? Our lives are but a breath; all our days are fleeting.  That even in my sin Your love never left me.”

“For Your steadfast love is before my eyes, and I walk in Your faithfulness.” – Psalm 26:3

“How blessed we are, that You are our God and we are Your people. You make our sons like tall oak trees.  You make our daughters like bright flowers.”

Oh, that I would spend my days, energy, strength, and words on Him.  He is so faithful, good, and true.

“And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge – that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.” Ephesians 3:17-19

Leave a Reply

